Idaho Public Health Districts

Eastern Idaho Public Health (EIPH) was created by the Idaho legislature in 1970 to provide services for Bonneville, Clark, Custer, Fremont, Jefferson, Lemhi, Madison, and Teton Counties.

There are seven independent public health districts in Idaho, which cover all of the state’s 44 counties. The public health districts derive their authority under Title 39, Chaper 4 of the Idaho Code. They were created to insure essential public health services are made available to protect the health of all citizens of the State—no matter how large their county population. It is legislative intent that health districts operate and be recognized not as state agencies or departments, but as governmental entities whose creation has been authorized by the state, much in the manner as other single purpose districts. As outlined in the Idaho Code, public health districts are to provide the basic health services of:

  • Public Health Education
  • Physical Health
  • Environmental Health
  • Public Health Administration
  • Other Services as Needed

Public Health’s Vision

While Idaho’s Public Health Districts are locally based we share a common vision and mission: 

Healthy People in Healthy Communities

To learn more visit Idaho Public Health District’s website.